I don't feel loved. I am extremely angry and hurt. I feel very resentful.
I feel like every day is a lie, with Charlie making certain promises that are always unmet. The same pattern of behaviour, only different things this time.
And the same old thing happens.......in a roundabout way I am blamed by Charlie. He has just spat a lot of hurtful comments at me, things that don't even relate to my marriage, about my 'patterns of behaviour' in my life.
Same old story really......"Let's just pass the buck because I am God's gift to women, women love me, there is nothing wrong with me."
One difference is that he no longer believes I have Bipolar disorder because Max our counsellor set him straight about that, so now he thinks he can make me the scape goat with other things.
Yeah that really shows me that he has taken full responsibility. It is my fault, I am the problem. The fact that I am his third wife that he has fucked around on is irrelevant. It is the women in his life that have the problem. Ask his mother because she will tell you too.
He tells me he loves me everyday. He calls me from work everyday. In his eyes I should feel loved. He tells me. I should know he loves me.
But when I look at my marriage now and compare it to 2 years ago nothing has changed. The only thing that has changed is that it appears he is now telling me the truth and is no longer viewing online porn.
WOW! You know that is enough to make anyone feel loved. A phone call every weekday and your husband telling you the truth and not viewing online porn. Those things are enough to make anyone feel loved to the nth degree, isn't it?
Previous times in this relationship I have had to put up with all the promises of "I won't do it again" or "You are the only person I love" and "You mean the world to me" or even "You would destroy me if you left me". So I have listened and trusted and given chance after chance after chance. I have allowed him to remain in my life and he has given me several weeks of 'good' behaviour before he has been found out again.
Same old story here. I have had 'good' behaviour that has roped me back into this relationship. And the same old patterns have emerged.
A few weeks of 'good' behaviour have roped me in, so he stops the 'good' behaviour.
He roped me in with all the romantic nights that he woke me at 2am with burning candles and made love to me by candle light.
He roped me in promising to read certain books that were really important to this relationship and even going out to buy some himself, believing that this relationship would benefit from those books.
He roped me in with a constant stream of text messages he used to send me.
He roped me in by purchasing some gorgeous romantic night scratch cards and fulfilling those ideas.
He roped me in with beautiful little love notes that he used to leave for me.
He roped me in with a couple of wonderful nights out at wonderful restaurants.
He roped me in with wonderful emails and e-cards he used to send me everyday.
He roped me in with wonderful back massages and saying "I should do this more often to you" and even going out and buying body scrubs etc.
He roped me in by purchasing wonderful cards and writing beautiful things in them.
He roped me in by telling me he was going to see a professional person to deal with his issues.
He said and did all the right things. And once again I stupidly fell for those cheap words.
Stupid fucking me. So fucking stupid. Because once again I sit hurt and crushed.
I can't tell you the last time he wrote me something that was meaningful.
I can't tell you the last time he gave me a back massage.
I can't tell you the last time we went out for dinner.
I can't tell you the last time he saw his counsellor (but I can tell you since he came back, 9 months ago, he has seen her 3 times).
I can't tell you the last time he sent me a wonderful email or e-card.
I can't tell you the last time he read any of the books that he was so excited about reading, but I can tell you he has not finished one in its entirety.
I can't tell you the last time he made love to me, not just had sex with me, but kissed me passionately and
made love to me.
So once again I fell victim to his charming and charismatic ways. He's sitting pretty now. He believes he has me back, so why on earth would he go out of his way to do anything to make me feel loved? Hell, I'd never leave him, he told me so, so why would he even dream of doing anything that even remotely suggested that I was important to him?
And when I try and raise this with him all I get is "It is only ever important if I don't do it." Well you know what? I don't think he deserves to go to the top of the class for telling me the truth. I don't think he deserves to go to the top of the class for spending a little bit of time with me, such as the 20 minutes last week when we went for a bike ride. I don't think he deserves to go to the top of the class for bringing me flowers home after I have a hissy fit at him because I don't feel loved.
I go over this every few months and he NEVER gets it. I am sick to death of going over it. And everytime I have to go over it it makes me feel more and more angry because he NEVER gets it.
Nothing has changed in this marriage. What I have now is exactly what I had two years ago, before his affair. The only thing that is remotely different is there are a further 2 years of empty words and broken promises.
I feel hoodwinked. It didn't work then so why the fuck would it work now?
So I have asked him to leave and was spat a lot of nasty and hurtful comments. So I guess I will be looking for another house.